National Points Race

Here, you can find the standings for the 2021-2022 National Points Race, which will begin with the University of Kentucky Speech and Debate Season Opener on September 11, 2021 and conclude with the NSDA National Tournament on June 17, 2022. Standings will be updated at the end of every month, featuring the tournament news of the month.

While we acknowledge that plenty of extraordinarily talented extempers may not travel frequently, the National Points Race seeks to identify the “best” extemper across a series of widely-recognized tournaments in the United States. Our scoring system heavily values consistency and attendance at major circuit events.

You can find information on the methodology behind the National Points Race for the 2021-22 season here. We are always open to feedback on ways we can improve our scoring, including the addition or removal of tournaments and/or changes in point values across tiers. Feel free to send us suggestions at and; however, no tournaments will be added/removed once competition begins.

Unfortunately, because the National Points Race is a volunteer project without a budget, there are no prizes given to the winners (other than recognition from your fellow competitors!).

Due to time constraints, there will not be a short description of each month’s happenings on the National Points Race page this season. If you’re interested in tracking how competitors are doing over time, go check out our Monthly Updates which review tournament results!

Current Standings (last updated after NCFL):

1stDaniel Kind, Lake Highland Preparatory (FL)9500
2ndAnanth Veluvali, Edina (MN)5050
3rdMcKinley Paltzik, Phoenix Country Day (AZ)4500
4thCameron Roberts, Jack C. Hays (TX)4425
5thMarc Zavarro, Western (FL)3350
6thPeter Alisky, Smoky Hill (CO)3050
T-7thWilliam Chien, Harker (CA)
Kyle Letterer, Plano West Sr. (TX)
9thGabriel Frank-McPheter, Gabrielino (CA)2750
10thMichelle Jin, Harker (CA)2300
11thKatelyn Cai, BASIS Scottsdale (AZ)2200
12thKevin Li, Ridge (NJ)2100
13thGabriel Bo, Plano West Sr. (TX)2025
14thIesh Gujral, Eden Prairie (MN)2000
15thDev Ahuja, Solon (OH)1975
16thCharles Hou, Plano West Sr. (TX)1900
17thAlex Sorgini, La Salle (PA)1875
18thMukta Dharmapurikar, Durham (NC)1775
19thPhoena Lin, Plano West Sr. (TX)1750
20thChirag Choudhary, Unionville (PA)1625
21stJack Ververis, Trinity Prep (FL)1550
22ndTheodore Gercken, College Prep (CA)1475
23rdNatasha Banga, Coppell (TX)1400
24thThomas Vandenburg, Flintridge Prep (CA)1350
T-25thJames Cullen, Chaminade (NY)
Chloe Yang, Ridge (NJ)
Faye Zhang, Eastview (MN)

Previous Years:

2020-2021 National Points Race

  • Champion: Mukta Dharmapurikar (Durham Academy, NC)